The Day the Crayons Came Home & Habitats

 

The first few weeks of school (we started August 2nd), I don’t really plan too much content-rich instruction as inveritably there are so many demands on my time that I can’t always teach the students when they come for their weekly visit. Checking out tablets to 465 children, helping staff get into their email when they have forgotten their passwords, and the list goes on.

I do like to read some great books, mostly for fun, but I will try and work in an IB-PYP Learner Profile, an IB Unit of Inquiry Central Idea, or a Georgia Performance Standard.

IMG_2516

Postcards, Habitats, Georgia Performance Standards

I chose the book, The Day the Crayons Came Home, by Drew Daywalt and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers. I realized I could tie it in with one of the science standards 3rd grade students explore, habitats.  After I read the book, I showed the students some postcards I have received through the years, as I thought most would not have sent or received many postcards.  We brainstormed what constituted a habitat, what were some habitats they could name, etc.  I gave them each an index card and asked them to pick out a crayon and draw a habitat that the crayon would live in. They had a lot of fun and of course everyone wanted to check out the book! IMG_9514

IMG_9515

IMG_9516

IMG_9512

I write up the activities and instruction that take place in the library media center and place on a bulletin board in the hall.  I tried a new display method using 2 strands of ribbon attached at the ceiling and taped the index cards on them.

IMG_9513

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Library displays, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

