Decorating the Library Media Center for the New School Year

I finished getting the library media center decorated several weeks ago (for the 2016-17 school year), but  I am just getting around to posting (our students started back on August 2nd)! I found a poster at Target (in the dollar section) with a quote from Dr. Seuss, “The more that you read, the more you will know.  The more that you learn, the more places you will go.”  This inspired the decoration theme to start out the year.

Library media center big view

I hung the posters between the asymmetrical placed windows.

IMG_2419 IMG_2420 IMG_2421 IMG_2422  I made the posters from old National Geographic maps.  The windows are not symmetrically placed, so it’s a bit wonky.  I ordered the paper lanterns from Oriental Trading Company and colors of the lanterns are echoed in the maps and the color of words (READ, KNOW, LEARN, GO).

I’m enjoying it and I think the students are, too.  They really like the paper lanterns.

I reused signposts that my husband and I made the 5th grade’s social this past May.  They were also part of my inspiration for decoration this year.

1 Comment

Filed under Library displays

One response to “Decorating the Library Media Center for the New School Year

  1. Looks like you made a small budget go a long way!

Leave a comment